2015 Lake Malawi

Lake Malawi

Proposed Route

Map Overview Malawi

Map Overview Malawi

Primary inflows Ruhuhu River
Primary outflows Shire River, in turn into Zambesi River
Basin countries Malawi, Mozambique, Tanzania
Max. length 560 km to 580
Max. width 75 km
Surface area 29,600 km2
Average depth 292 m
Max. depth 706 m
Water volume 8,400 km³
Surface elevation 500 meters above sea level
Islands Likoma and Chizumulu islets

Lake Malawi (Lake Nyasa, or Lago Niassa in Mozambique) is the third largest and second deepest lake in Africa, it is also the ninth largest in the world.


It is reportedly the habitat of more species of fish than any other body of freshwater, including more than 1000 species of cichlids, and was officially declared a reserve by the Government of Mozambique on June 10, 2011.


The lake lies in a valley formed by the opening of the East African Rift, where the African tectonic plate is being split into two pieces. This is called a divergent plate tectonics boundary. It is variously estimated at about 40,000 years old or about one to two million years. The lake is about 350 kilometres southeast of Lake Tanganyika.


Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: